À propos

Le fonds

Quantonation est un fonds de capital-risque dédié aux startups de la Deep Physics, avec un focus sur le domaine émergent des Technologies Quantiques. Créé en 2018 et basé à Paris (France), le fonds travaille en étroite collaboration avec les startups dans lesquelles il investit dans le monde entier, en tirant parti de l’expertise et du réseau de l’équipe de management. Quantonation a été lancé par Audacia, plateforme d’investissement en direct de PME non cotées et en croissance, et Gravitation.

VOIR LES FAQ (EN)

Les technologies

Après des années de R&D, des propriétés telles que la superposition et l’intrication quantiques commencent à être maitrisées et exploitées au sein d’une nouvelle génération de technologies quantiques, avec un impact fort sur de nombreux secteurs grâce à des performances supérieures à celles des appareils « classiques ». D’autres innovations de rupture issues des laboratoires de recherche en physique sont également appelées à avoir des répercussions profondes.

capteurs, métrologie, imagerie
simulateurs de phénomènes complexes
communications ultra-sécurisées
ordinateurs très hautes performances

La stratégie d’investissement

Quantonation investit dans des startups de la Deep Tech qui se concentrent sur les technologies quantiques de seconde génération, ou d’équipes et d’entreprises tirant partie des innovations de rupture issue des laboratoires de recherche en physique les plus innovants. Les investissements sont réalisés à chaque étape de la vie de l’entreprise:

En pré-amorçage

Financement de la maturation du projet d’une équipe de fondateurs, avant la création de la société

En amorçage

Le financement prend effet après la création de l’entreprise qui se dote d’un plan clair

Par la suite...

Participation au capital lors des premiers tours de financement de sociétés déjà existantes

Quantonation s’efforce dans la rédaction du pacte d’actionnaire et des documents financiers de faciliter la gestion des entrepreneurs pour qu’ils puissent se concentrer sur le développement de leurs produits. Notre objectif est de :

  • Garantir une exécution la plus rapide possible
  • Aligner notre offre de financement avec les intérêts des managers
  • Construire un cadre légal qui facilitera et préparera la croissance de l’entreprise et la venue de nouveaux investisseurs.

Seed – Series A

Levée de fonds

40 M€

de montant-cible

250K-2M€

en prise de participation

10 à 20

entreprises en portefeuille

L'équipe

Quantonation est dirigée par une équipe possédant une expertise scientifique approfondie, une expérience de l’industrie, une connaissance intime des mécanismes de financement public et des compétences éprouvées en matière d’innovation. Elle s’appuie sur un réseau de conseillers et d’experts.

Christophe JURCZAK,
Directeur Général

Christophe a occupé des postes de responsabilité en France et aux Etats-Unis dans l’administration et dans des entreprises de l’énergie et de la défense ainsi que dans le domaine émergent de l’informatique quantique. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat en physique quantique sous la direction du professeur Alain Aspect sur le refroidissement d’atomes par laser.
Christophe est diplômé de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure et de Polytechnique. 

Charles BEIGBEDER,
Président

« Serial Entrepreneur », Charles a fondé et dirigé plusieurs entreprises dans les secteurs des services financiers, de l’énergie et de l’agro-industrie. Il est un ancien élève de l’Ecole Centrale et un passionné de physique quantique. Il est président de Gravitation et partenaire fondateur chez Audacia.

Olivier TONNEAU,
Senior Advisor

Diplômé de l’ESSEC, Olivier est Directeur Général Adjoint de la Gravitation, holding d’investissement de l’entrepreneur Charles Beigbeder.

Jean-Gabriel BOINOT-TRAMONI, Associate

Après plusieurs expériences entrepreneuriales, Jean-Gabriel fut consultant en restructuring avant de rejoindre un fonds de Private Equity. Il participe désormais à l’étude des opportunités d’investissement et la structuration des deals au sein de Quantonation.

Portefeuille

ACTUALITÉS

événement

04-04-2019 : Quantonation sera présent aux French Photonics Days le 4 Avril 2019 à Talence en présence de nombreuses start ups!

EN SAVOIR PLUS

tribune au « Monde »

27-03-2019 : Fondateurs de Quantonation, Charles Beigbeder et Christophe Jurczak plaident dans une tribune au « Monde » pour une politique publique de soutien aux « technologies de rupture » qu’offre l’ingénierie issue de la physique quantique.

EN SAVOIR PLUS

conférence

12-03-2019 : Participation de Christophe Jurczak, managing partner @Quantonation, à la première édition des Tech Trendz @Station F. Le thème était : Est-il temps d’investir dans l’ordinateur quantique ?

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Contact

About Us

The Fund

Quantonation is an Early Stage Venture Fund dedicated to Deep Physics startups with a focus on the emerging and disruptive field of Quantum Technologies. Created in 2018 and based in Paris (France), our approach is to work closely with the startups we invest in, whatever the stage of development they are in, leveraging our expertise and network to their benefit. Quantonation is seeded by Audacia, leading French Growth Equity investor, and Gravitation.

FAQ

Technologies

After years of R&D, properties such as quantum superposition and entanglement are starting to be harnessed and exploited in a new generation of Quantum Technologies, impacting many sectors by exceeding “classical” devices. Other breakthroughs in science and engineering out of physics research labs profoundly impact industries and people’s lives. We consider four broad categories of applications:

sensing, measuring, imaging
simulating complex phenomena
communicating in security
computing fast

The Investment Thesis

Quantonation invests in startups exploiting genuine quantum effects and also in companies leveraging deep physics towards disruptive applications. Investments are made at every phase of the life of the company:

Pre-seed

Bringing to maturity an exciting company project

Seed Funding

Funding the first phase of product development

Series A and later

Participating to the first funding rounds of companies

Quantonation’s view is that shareholder pact and financial documents should be drafted in a way to help entrepreneurs manage their company so that they can focus on the development of their products. Our goal is to:

  • Guarantee the fastest possible execution
  • Align our financing offer with the interests of founders and managers
  • Build a legal framework that will facilitate and prepare the growth of the company and the onboarding of new investors.

SEED – SERIES A

investment stage

€50M

total funding

€250K-2M

investment ticket

10 to 20

targeted enterprises in portfolio

Our Team

Quantonation is led by a team with a deep scientific expertise, industry experience, intimate knowledge of funding mechanisms and proven innovation credentials.  They rely on an extensive network of well respected advisors and experts.

Christophe JURCZAK,
Managing Partner

Christophe has held government and executive positions in energy, defense and in the emerging field of quantum computing, in Europe and in the US. He holds masters degree in Engineering and Quantum Physics respectively from Ecole Polytechnique and Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris. He also holds a PhD in Quantum Physics under the supervision of Prof. Alain Aspect on laser cooling of atoms.

Charles BEIGBEDER,
Founding Partner

A serial entrepreneur, Charles has founded and managed several successful companies in the sectors of financial services, energy and agro-industry. He is an alumni of Ecole Centrale and a passionate of quantum technologies. He serves as chairman of Gravitation and partner at Audacia.

Olivier TONNEAU,
Partner

A graduate from ESSEC business school, Olivier is Deputy General Manager of Gravitation, the investment holding of entrepreneur Charles Beigbeder.

Jean-Gabriel BOINOT-TRAMONI,
Associate

Jean-Gabriel was part of several entrepreneurial projects before becoming a management consultant. He then joined a Private Equity fund. At Quantonation, he is in charge of opportunity analysis and deal structuration.

Portfolio

News

event

2019-05-26: BPI France is organizing the first Quantum Computing Business Conference. Come and meet the pioneers of worldwide Quantum computing ecosystem: startups, corporates, investors, researchers and leading experts.

READ MORE

event

2019-05-09: Christophe Jurczak participated to Pioneers 2019 in Vienna. As part of the Deep Tech Panel he had the opportunity to introduce the huge potential of Quantum Technologies to the Audience.

READ MORE

manifesto

2019-03-26: Quantonation founders Charles Beigbeder and Christophe Jurczak share their vision of Quantum Technologies in a manifesto published by “Le Monde”. They wish that public policy should support the “disruptive technologies” offered by engineering based on quantum physics.

READ MORE

event

2019-02-10: Success for the first Quantum Hackathon in France, organized by Quantonation

READ MORE

Meetup

REGISTER

Contact

We are always scouting for startups with values and projects that fit with our thesis and if this sounds like you, we would love to talk. Are you a professional investor interested in the disruption potential of Quantum Technologies and Deep Physics? Get in touch.